Transmission mode and components of data communication

  • August 5, 2021
  • Aashish Mishra

Transferring of data between two devices is called Transmission Mode.


There are three type of transmission mode :

  1.  Simplex Mode – In this mode, the communication is unidirectional. Only one of the two devices on a link can transmit, the other can only receive. Ex – Keyboard, Monitors etc.
  2. Half Duplex Mode – In this Mode, each devices can transmit and receive but not at the same time. When one is sending, the other only can receive and vice versa. Ex – Walkie-talkie.
  3. Full Duplex Mode – In this Mode, Both devices can transmit and receive simultaneously. Sender can send and receive data at the same time. Ex – Mobile Phones(Telecommunication).

Component of Data Communication

There are mainly five component of data communication.

  1. Message – It is simply refers to data or piece of information which is to be communicated.
  2. Sender –  To transfer message from source to destination. Sender plays part of a source in data communication. It is simple a device that sends data message.
  3. Receiver – It is a destination where finally message sent by source has arrived. It is a device that receive message or data.
  4. Medium – In data communication system, there must be something which could act as a bridge between sender and receiver. Transmission medium plays that part. It is a physical path by which data or message travels from sender to receiver.
  5. Set of Rules (Protocols) – To manage data communication, various sets of rule had been already designed which represent a kind of agreement between communication devices. These are defined as a Protocol.


Introduction of Data Communication and Network